More than a third of MPs in KiwiSaver

More than a third of MPs are members of a KiwiSaver scheme, according to the latest register of pecuniary interests.

Of the 122 MPs, 44 are signed up to a KiwiSaver scheme.

The highest proportion of members was within the Green Party, with five out of nine MPs joining the scheme.

Across the remaining parties 16 National MPs are members, 21 Labour MPs, Act’s Hilary Calvert and Maori Party co-leader Tariana Turia.

Ministers enrolled in the scheme include Gerry Brownlee, David Carter, Hekia Parata, Chris Finlayson and Simon Power.

Prime Minister John Key was unable to conform whether he was a member of a KiwiSaver scheme, with the register showing he has an individual retirement plan.

“I’m a member of whatever that Government scheme is that applied to members that came in in 2002,” he said yesterday.

“I think it might be [KiwiSaver] but I’m not 100% sure.”